SHAY Steam Locomotive

SHAY Steam Locomotive 

  • NO.18 SHAY Steam Locomotive

    NO.18 SHAY Steam Locomotive

  • NO.18 SHAY Steam Locomotive

Originally, the Japanese "Fujida Group" purchased one 13-ton, two-cylinder Shay steam locomotive from the Lima Company in the United States. This was the first steam locomotive running the Alishan Railway. Due to the limited financial resources, the "Fujida Group" had had no proper plan for the purchase of trains until the Office of the Taiwan Governor-General officially took over the operation. From 1910 to 1913, in order to carry out the construction work in the high mountain area, a total of eight 18-metric ton, two-cylinder steam Shay locomotives were purchased. In 1912, the 18-ton locomotive failed to climb the steep slope from Erwanping Station to Shenmu Station of the Alishan Railway. Therefore, a three-cylinder 28-ton steam locomotive was introduced. Between 1912 and 1918, a total of 12 locomotives of the type were purchased. After the 1920s, diesel locomotives were invented, and they cost less money to run than steam locomotives, and the Shay locomotives have gradually fallen into disuse. Even so, these more than 20 steam locomotives played a very important role in the most difficult pioneering history of the Alishan Forest Railway.
 

Features

  1. The Shay steam locomotive is designed by the American timber entrepreneur Ephraim Shay. The design of this "vertical cylinder" is more suitable for the curved track and the stop-and-go driving mode than the "reciprocating cylinder", so Shay was greatly welcomed by the logging industry and was patented in 1881. In addition to domestic sales in the United States, the locomotives were exported to Canada, Mexico, Central and South America, Australia and other countries.
  2. The Shay steam locomotive adopts the Stephenson D-type valve device, coupled with the eccentric sliding guide and the reversing gear to control the direction (forward and backward) of travel of the locomotive and the speed is controlled by the amount of steam.
  3. This type of locomotive has the world's most peculiar structure, which allows it to be able to run on a curve radius of only 30 meters.
  4. The performances such as low speed, high torque, strong climbing ability, and easy manual maintenance have made it long lasting.
  5. There is no shock absorber spring on the right axle box, and only the left axle box is equipped with a shock absorber spring.
  6. This type of locomotive is a US-Japan hybrid. Although it was designed and manufactured by the Lima Locomotive Manufacturing Company in Ohio, its ET-6 type braking system was manufactured by American Westinghouse Air Brake Company and the brake parts and lubricator were Japanese products.
  7. Under the condition that the construction and vehicle limits are not violated, the Shay steam locomotive has a double vertical and short-distance piston stroke structure, equipped with four pairs of bevel gears, to form eight-transmission power wheels, which have high climbing ability and are suitable for meeting the unique requirement of the Alishan Forest Railway.
  8. This type of locomotive is equipped with a sanding system that allows the driver to use "pneumatic control sanding" or "manual control sanding" to spray ceramic powder on the track to improve the friction between wheels and track. This has set an example of "spraying ceramic powder on the track to improve the friction" in the history of rolling stock.
  9. The Washington pump is used to increase the pressure on the water supply and have a fire protection function.
After World War II, because of railway dieselization and electrification as well as the rise of road transportation and air transportation, Lima closed its locomotive plant. Our repair plant in Chiayi locomotive garage, without the original parts, had to make molds to manufacture the parts, so that the No. 26 steam locomotive can be preserved and provide passenger service, and has been completely different from the Shay locomotives that used to travel in other countries around the world. This is the rare asset unique to the Alishan Forest Railway in Taiwan. Hopefully, all the tourists do not forget to pay attention to this precious national treasure while admiring the beautiful scenery.
  • Steam Locomotive

    Steam Locomotive

  • SHAY Steam Locomotive

    SHAY Steam Locomotive

TOP

夏依式蒸汽機車

SHAY蒸汽機車之歷史 

  • Shay18號蒸氣機車

    Shay18號蒸氣機車

  • Shay18號蒸氣機車

最初日本「藤田組」為輸運木材,向美國LIMA公司訂購了13公噸的SHAY式二汽缸蒸汽機車,這可以說是阿里山鐵路最早的蒸氣火車。由於「藤田組」的財力有限,對火車之採購並無完善之計劃,直到臺灣總督府正式接手後才有所改善。明治43年(西元1910年)~大正2年(西元1913年),為應付高山地區的工程修築工作,共購入18公噸的SHAY式二汽缸蒸汽機車8輛。大正元年(西元1912年)時,阿里山鐵道之字型路段「二萬平」至「神木」的陡坡,18噸之機車無法負荷,故又引進三汽缸式28公噸蒸汽機車。於大正元年(西元1912年)-大正六年(西元1918年)間,共購入了12部。1920年代後柴油機車發明,馬力超越蒸汽機車,SHAY逐漸被淘汰。 雖然如此,這二十多輛的蒸汽機車,在阿里山林業鐵路最艱辛的開創史上,扮演了極重要的角色。
 

夏依式蒸汽機車之特色

  1. 夏依式蒸汽機車是美國木材企業家伊傳雷夏依氏(EPHRAIM SHAY)所設計,此種「直立式汽缸」之設計,較原本「往復式汽缸」更能適應彎曲的軌道路線及時走時停的行駛方式,獲得伐木業者的極大歡迎,並於1881年獲得專利。除內銷美國本土外更外銷至加拿大、墨西哥、中南美洲、澳洲等國家。
  2. 夏依式蒸汽機車採用史蒂芬遜式D型器閥裝置,配合偏心滑導與順逆操縱機構達到機車前進與後進之行車需要,並以蒸汽量之大小控制速度。
  3. 擁有世界最奇特的最小迴轉半徑結構,最小能達到僅30公尺的曲線半徑彎度。
  4. 具低車速、高扭力、爬坡力強性能、加上手工保養容易,奠定歷久不衰的基礎。
  5. 右軸箱上無避震一次彈簧,僅左側之左軸箱裝有一次避震彈簧。
  6. 該種機車屬美日混血兒:雖是美國俄亥俄州萊瑪機車製造公司所設計製造,並非單一廠牌之組立車輛。軔機系統雖採用美國西屋公司ET-6型,煞車配件及潤滑器則為日本製品。
  7. 在不違背建築與車輛限界之條件下,夏依式蒸汽機車具有併排直立、短距離之活塞衝程結構,四對傘型大小齒輪配備,形成八輸均屬動力輪,具備高爬坡能力,適合阿里山林業鐵路獨特之地形需求。
  8. 該型機車置設灑砂系統,以「氣控撒砂」或「手控灑砂」,於軌道上噴灑陶瓷粉粒,以增加粘著力,在鐵道車輛史上樹立了「撒砂增粘」之典範。
  9. 藉助華盛頓水泵提昇供水之壓力,且具消防功能。
在二次大戰後,由於鐵路柴油化與電氣化之趨勢,及公路與航空之競爭,LIMA公司因而關廠。本處嘉義車庫修理工廠,在沒有原廠零件補充下,自行開模翻製零件,使26號蒸汽機車仍可以動態運轉方式保存下來,並已與世界各國昔日所使用的SHAY,有了截然不同的風貌。這些是臺灣阿里山林業鐵路所獨有的稀有資產,希望各位旅客在欣賞美景的同時,也別忘了多留意這珍貴的國寶。
  • 特殊設計的登山火車

    特殊設計的登山火車

  • SHAY型直立汽缸蒸火車頭

    SHAY型直立汽缸蒸火車頭

TOP