Altitude: 1186 m
Mileage: 40.3 km
Location: Shuisheliao, Renshou Village, Zhuqi Township, Chiayi County

Briefing

From Jiaoliping Station to Shuisheliao Station, there are 8 tunnels on the way. It is the section with the largest number of tunnels between two stations of Alishan Forest Railway. When a train passes through from No. 16 tunnel to No. 19 tunnel, it is winding around the Dubi Mountain.
Shuisheliao Station, 1,186 meters above sea level, is a small station under the peaks of the Dubi Mountain and the Sitianwang Mountain. The most interesting part of this station is that the track presents a U-shaped curve, and the train winds along exactly a 180-degree curve from pulling into the station to pulling out of the station. Along with the Erwanping Station, they are the two stations with a U-shaped track on the Alishan Forest Railway. Shuisheliao Station has already become a staffless station since the 1990s. Recently, due to the nearby bat cave, the abandoned station has been converted into a bat education center. The Shuisheliao Station is the first station for education in bat ecology in Taiwan.
Taking the station as a starting point, tourists can walk to the surrounding famous scenic spots, covered with China-fir forest and bamboo forest along the way with excellent views. Tourists can overlook Yushan, Tashan, Ruili, and Fenqihu from a long distance. To the south, tourists can go to Wolong Valley, also known as Shigupan. The stream washes the boulder in the valley, forming dozens of gullies and caves. The stream water accumulates in the ditch from top to bottom, and then flows to the next ditch like a small waterfall. Like this, the holes connect one another for two kilometers long, like a crouching dragon on the water, so it is called by this beautiful name, Wolong (literally crouching dragon) Valley.

Attraction

Bat Ecological Museum, Autumn Maple Tree Scenic Area, Wolong Valley Scenic Area, Four King-Mountains Trail, Shuishui Historical Trail, Ruishui Historical Trail

Back to the guide map
TOP

海拔:1186公尺
里程:40.5公里
地址:603嘉義縣竹崎鄉仁壽村水社寮

水社寮車站

從交力坪車站至水社寮經過8個隧道,是今日阿里山林業鐵路兩站之間隧道數最多的路段,火車經過16號至19號隧道剛好正是以ㄇ字形繞著四天王山的篤鼻山而行,而20至23號則繞過第二三四峰。

水社寮車站,海拔1186公尺,是位在篤鼻山、四天王山群峰下的一個小車站,這個車站最有趣的地方,在於軌道呈現一個「Ω」字形,火車從進站到出站恰好是180度,與二萬平站是阿里山林業鐵路二座「Ω」字形的軌道。水社竂站現為招呼站,因附近有蝙蝠棲地,而於站內設置蝙蝠生態教育館。

以車站為起始點,可步行至四周的知名景點,沿途覆蓋著杉林與竹林,擁有極佳的視野,可以展望玉山、塔山、瑞里、奮起湖。往南可前往臥龍谷,又稱石谷盤,溪水沖刷溪谷中的巨石,形成數十個溝壑與洞穴,溪水由上而下積累在溝穴中,再以小瀑布的姿態傾流至下一個溝穴,如此相連綿延兩公里長,宛如水上蟠龍,贏得臥龍谷的美名。

周邊景點

蝙蝠生態教育館、龍山國小仁光分校(已廢校)、茄冬風景區、臥龍谷風景區、四大天王山步道(四天皇山、青園山、篤鼻山、知鳥山)、睡美人、石螺洞、水水古道、瑞水古道

回導覽路線圖
TOP